Access numerous ebooks through the SIT ebook collections. These collections offer authoritative ebooks covering a variety of subject areas with powerful tools to help you find, use and manage information.
Access our ebook collections by typing in the following address https://my.sit.ac.nz. Enter your SIT email address and password to open the MySIT page.
The ebook collections are accessed from the library’s MySIT page, click on the Library tab in the top ribbon.
Click the E-book Collections tile to open the guide with links to all our ebook collections.
A new window will open. Click on a tab to view different ebook collections e.g. ProQuest eBook Central. → Click on the title to enter the collection.
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text ebooks in a wide range of academic disciplines along with powerful annotative tools.
Navigating Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides a variety of ways to search its collection: basic search, advanced search or browse the collection by subject.
Click the title to view the ebook’s details.
Click either the read online or download book option to access the ebook.
For detailed notes on Ebook Central's functions and tools scroll down the page.
EBSCOhost eBooks includes three ebook collections:
| EBSCOhost eBook Academic Collection | Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter ensuring access to information relevant to staff and students’ research needs. |
| EBSCOhost MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection | Covers a broad range of general reference subjects including biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports and travel. |
| EBSCOhost MAS Ultra: School Edition | Access popular magazines and ebooks at a secondary school level covering many subjects including history, science and health. |
Navigating the EBSCOhost Ebook Collections
EBSCOhost ebook collections use an advanced search. Search techniques typically used when searching databases can be utilised e.g. phrase searching, truncation, Boolean operators and limiters.
Click the title to view the ebook’s details.
Select either the PDF Full Text or the EPUB Full Text version to read the ebook online.
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, October 6). Reading EBSCO eBooks - tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ou8gt5-YcRw
ClinicalKey provides access to nursing ebooks, images, videos and comprehensive learning tools that support both students and instructors.
Navigating ClinicalKey Student Nursing
Click a tab in the top ribbon to access ebooks, images or videos.
Use the homepage search bar to search for a particular title or topic.
When you locate a useful ebook, click the Add to Bookshelf icon to save the ebook to your bookshelf. Once in your bookshelf you can highlight, bookmark pages, make annotations and create flashcards.
For detailed instructions on using ClinicalKey Student Nursing check out our online ClinicalKey Guide at https://sitacnz.libguides.com/ClinicalKey.
Ovid Nursing eBooks provides access to the following ebooks:
Navigating Ovid Nursing eBooks
Eight Nursing ebooks are available through Ovid. Click on the New Book Reader icon to enter a specific ebook. The new book reader provides page numbers which is helpful for in-text citations. It also provides the options to search within the ebook, highlight, bookmark pages and make notes.
CCH eBooks provides access to legal ebooks for the following practice areas: business law, company and securities law, conveyancing and property law, employment and human resources, trusts and estates law, GST and taxation.
Navigating CCH eBooks
CCH provides a variety of ways to search its collection: browse the 22 available ebooks, basic search or advanced search.
Click on the ebook’s cover image to view the ebook’s details. → Click Sign In to access the ebook. You will automatically be signed in using your SIT username and password.
Click Borrow. → Click Read. Please be aware loans are for 13 days.
Once open you can navigate using the contents page, set your reader preferences, search within the ebook and bookmark pages.
BWB eBook Collections includes seven ebook collections:
| BWB eBooks: Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection | Access volumes of the peer-reviewed journal Te Pouhere Kōrero – Māori History, Māori People which focuses on Māori and Indigenous history. |
| BWB eBooks: Critical Issues Collection | This collection focuses on the deep analysis of important issues including climate change, government, trade, economics, rights, justice, identity, housing, inequality, child poverty, migration, science, environment and health. |
| BWB eBooks: Texts Collection | This collection is a series of short books covering a variety of subject areas. |
| BWB eBooks: Women’s Studies Collection | This collection combines decades of groundbreaking publishing of life through a female lens. |
| BWB eBooks: Treaty of Waitangi Collection | This collection covers the foundations, history and commentaries relating to the Treaty of Waitangi - Te Tiriti o Waitangi. It combines award-winning histories with diverse commentary. |
| BWB eBooks: New Zealand History Collection | This collection covers New Zealand history from its earliest beginnings to present day. |
| BWB eBooks: New Zealand Sign Language Collection | Access ebooks on deaf culture and New Zealand Sign Language. |
Navigating the BWB eBook Collections
Browse the ebooks within the collection and click Read Now to enter a specific ebook or use the search option to search for a specific title or topic. When the Read Now icon is selected the ebook will open at the contents page. Select the chapter you want to read
The search function allows you to search across all ebooks in the collection or within a specific ebook.
When reading online, to the left of the ebook is a function menu which provides several useful functions and tools.
Along the top of the ebook is a toolbar of useful tools for effective and efficient study. To use any of the annotation tools you must sign in using your SIT ID number and password. These annotations are accessed from the annotation section of the function menu.
Click on the highlight icon and highlight your chosen text, there are three colour options. This allows you to visually separate different ideas etc.
Along the top of the ebook is a toolbar of useful tools for effective and efficient study. To use any of the annotation tools you must sign in using your SIT ID number and password. These annotations are accessed from the annotation section of the function menu.
Click on the add note icon and write a note that will be attached to the page you are currently on.
Along the top of the ebook is a toolbar of useful tools for effective and efficient study. To use any of the annotation tools you must sign in using your SIT ID number and password. These annotations are accessed from the annotation section of the function menu.
Click on the bookmark icon to bookmark the page you are currently on.
The toolbar also provides quick access to downloading, copying and printing the ebook. However, be aware of the copy and print limits listed under the book’s details in the function menu.
Ebook Central provides an electronic bookshelf for storing numerous ebooks.
Adding Ebooks to your Bookshelf:
Ebooks are added to your bookshelf from the toolbar or the function menu.
Accessing your Bookshelf:
Your bookshelf is accessed from the link in the top right-hand corner.
Video credited to ProQuest Training.
ProQuest Training. (2018, July 6). Ebook Central overview and searching [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h12UaYZRfjA
Video credited to ProQuest Video.
ProQuest Video. (2019, March 15). Ebook Central online reader and productivity tools [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2MP4k65Vt4
Video credited to ProQuest Video.
ProQuest Video. (2019, March 15). Using the Ebook Central book detail page [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtgcrSdcuvk
Video credited to ProQuest Video.
ProQuest Video. (2019, March 15). Organize your research with the Ebook Central bookshelf [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQhSyT4ryWU