The database CINAHL Ultimate provides access to a vast amount of information on nursing and allied health from around the world. Learn how to use both the basic and advanced search functions to locate useful information effectively and efficiently.
A basic search can be approached a number of ways.
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, September 8). CINAHL databases: Basic searching tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BUBmheI_pE
The advanced search also allows you to use multiple keywords in your search and specify the field to search e.g. title, abstract or subject. The advanced search provides the option to add extra search bars.
You can use different search techniques within the search bars e.g. phrase searching, truncation and Boolean operators.
When the database returns the search results, use limiters to reduce and refine those results. Some useful limiters are full text, source type, publication date, subject and language.
On the sub-page Searching the Online Databases the functions of common limiters are explained.
To read an article click on the title. Some articles may be an abstract only. In this situation the SIT Library can interloan the article from another library for you free of charge.
Clicking on a title will take you to the article’s record. Some will have the option of HTML full text and/or PDF full text. There is a difference between HTML and PDF. HTML displays as one long continuous page and does not display page numbers. You will need to reference a HTML document as an electronic source with counted paragraphs. PDF full text is a scanned copy of the original article and has page numbers.
Options for a PDF full text article:
Options for a HTML full text article:
Your personal profile folder stores information collected across searching sessions. All the items saved to your personal folder remain until you remove them.
Set up and Sign In:
To access your personal folder you must set up a personal account with Ebsco. This involves providing an email address and creating a password. Once signed up remember to sign in at each new search. If you are not signed in, the folder will not retain any items.
The sign in function is located in the top ribbon.
Adding items to your folder:
There are two ways to add items to your folder.
Accessing and using your folder:
To access your folder click on the folder icon located in the top ribbon. You must be signed in.
Within your folder you can create custom folders e.g. for different assignments or papers.
Remember if you want to retain an item in your folder you must be signed in.
Subject terms are assigned based on article content, allowing you to create a targeted search. When you click the Suggest Subject Terms box above the search bar prior to conducting a search, your terms are searched against the CINAHL Headings. From there, you can select headings and subheadings to refine your search.
1. Enter search terms in the search bar, check the Suggest Subject Terms box and click search.
2. From the list of related terms select a subject heading to view available subheadings.
3. Check boxes of desired subheadings to add them to your search. Terms are added to the Search Term Builder box on the right.
4. To add more headings to your search click Browse Additional Terms and follow the same steps of searching for a search term and selecting subject headings and subheadings.
OR
Click Search Database to execute the search.
5. Limiters can be used to further refine the results.
Using Explode and Major Concept when selecting subject headings
Explode: When you explode a term, you create a search query that “explodes” the subject heading. The headings are exploded to retrieve all references indexed to that term as well as all references indexed to any narrower subject terms. To explode a term check the box to the right of the term.
Major Concept: When you select Major Concept for a term, you create a search query that finds only records for which the subject heading is a major point of the article. To select a term as major concept check the box to the right of the term.
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2019, February 28). Using CINAHL/MeSH headings feature in EBSCOhost [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJJPp9yAIoA
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, April 21). Introduction to EBSCOhost: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9QmFBSz17A
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, March 24). EBSCOhost basic search: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vT833d5F2yI
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, March 24). EBSCOhost advanced searching: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsD0ZH1hx4o
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2021, February 28). Using the EBSCOhost result list: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fY54ksR_y8
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2019, February 28). Reading an article on EBSCOhost: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3wx3qTenHc
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, March 19). MyEBSCO folder: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWenVWQj3LU
Video credited to EBSCO Tutorials.
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, April 19). Creating a search alert in EBSCOhost: Tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9QmFBSz17A