SIT Library Guides: Nursing: Web Resources

Government organisations

Ministry of Health - Manatū Hauora
The Ministry of Health leads New Zealand’s health and disability system, and has overall responsibility for the management and development of this system.

These Ministry of Health webpages are particularly useful for Nursing students:

Health Statistics: Access statistical publications and data sets on a variety of health topics.
Maori Health: Access information on Maori health objectives, policies and publications.
New Zealand Health Strategy 2016: This strategy sets the direction of health services to improve the health of people and communities.
Nursing: Access information on what nurses are doing to develop and enhance their contribution to health services in New Zealand.
Pacific Health: Access information on the health and wellbeing of Pacific peoples as well as Pacific health resources and publications.

Medsafe
Medsafe is responsible for the regulation of therapeutic products in New Zealand. This website provides information on medicines, devices and safety.
Pharmac
Pharmac is the New Zealand government agency that decides which medicines and related products are funded in New Zealand.
Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for nursing:

Health: Statistical data on a variety of health topics including injuries, disabilities and life expectancy.
Wellbeing: Statistical data on wellbeing includes life satisfaction, finances, health, housing, human rights and relationships.

New Zealand commissions

Health and Disability Commissioner
The Health and Disability Commissioner promotes and protects people's rights as set out in the Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights.
Health Quality & Safety Commission New Zealand
The Health Quality & Safety Commission works with clinicians, providers and consumers to improve health and disability support services.
Privacy Commissioner
The Privacy Commissioner works to develop and promote a culture in which personal information is protected and respected.

Online magazine

Nursing Times
This magazine publishes articles to help nurses improve their practice, keep them up to date with news on nursing and healthcare policy and practice, and support them in their career development.

Professional nursing associations

New Zealand Nurses Organisation
The New Zealand Nurses Organisation is the leading professional body of nurses and health workers in New Zealand. NZNO is committed to the representation of its members and the promotion of nursing and midwifery.
College of Nurses Aotearoa (NZ)
The College of Nurses Aotearoa (NZ) is a professional body of New Zealand nurses from all regions and specialities. This organisation provides a voice for the nursing profession and professional commentary on issues which affect nurses and the health of the whole community.
New Zealand College of Mental Health Nurses
New Zealand College of Mental Health Nurses is a professional body that represents mental health, addiction and disability nursing.
Nursing Council of New Zealand
The Nursing Council of New Zealand is the regulatory authority responsible for the registration of nurses. Its primary function is to protect the health and safety of members of the public by ensuring that nurses are competent and fit to practise.
Palliative Care Nurses New Zealand (PCNNZ)
This is the only organisation in the country which represents nurses from all care settings who either work in or have an interest within the speciality of palliative care.
Te Rūnanga o Aotearoa
Te Rūnanga o Aotearoa (Te Rūnanga), alongside their Te Tiriti o Waitangi partner, the New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO), represents Māori health professional members.

Health organisations

Amohia te Waiora
Amohia te Waiora provides information, advice, research and resources to help prevent and reduce alcohol-related harm and inspire New Zealanders to make better decisions about drinking alcohol.
ASH: Action for Smokefree 2025
ASH campaigns to achieve the vision to eliminate the death and harm caused by tobacco. This website provides access to research and resources.
Cancer Society
The Cancer Society is dedicated to reducing the incidence of cancer and ensuring the best cancer care for everyone.
Diabetes New Zealand
Diabetes New Zealand is a charitable trust that represents and supports people with diabetes by providing information and resources to help identify and manage diabetic symptoms.
Heart Foundation of New Zealand
The Heart Foundation is New Zealand’s heart charity and is leading the fight against our country’s single biggest killer – heart disease.
Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand
This charity works towards creating a society free from discrimination, where all people enjoy positive mental health and wellbeing.
Plunket Whānau Āwhina
Plunket Whānau Āwhina is Aotearoa’s largest support service for the health and wellbeing of tamariki under-five and their whānau.
Toi Tangata
Toi Tangata is a Māori agency that develops, delivers and champions kaupapa Māori based approaches to kori (physical activity) and kai (nutrition).
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health.

Research organisations

Health Research Council of New Zealand
The Health Research Council of New Zealand identifies and funds research that can lead to new medicines, breakthroughs and cures, and improve the health and wellbeing of all New Zealanders.
The Hub
The Hub is the repository containing social science research undertaken, commissioned or partly funded by central government in New Zealand.
Maori Health Review
The Māori Health Review assists health professionals to keep up to date with key Māori health research papers published in global journals.

Useful websites

Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
HealthEd
HealthEd provides free public health resources from Te Hiringa Hauora/Health Promotion Agency, the Ministry of Health and other health providers.
Healthify
The Healthify website provides one place for New Zealanders to find reliable and trustworthy health information and self-care resources.
Innerbody: Human Anatomy Systems
Use this interactive website to explore the different systems of the human body.
Kids Health
Kids Health provides New Zealand parents and whānau with accurate and reliable information about the health and wellbeing of tamariki and rangatahi in Aotearoa.
Merck Manual - Professional version
The Merck Manual provides accurate, accessible and usable medical information for health professionals. Access medical and drug information, resources, news, procedures and exam information, case studies, quizzes and much more.
The New Zealand Formulary
The NZF is an independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients.
Nurseslabs
This educational website provides study guides, written and reviewed by registered nurses. These include care plan examples, videos, exam preparation tests, study notes on a wide variety of topics and much more.