SIT Library Guides: Health Science: Web Resources

Government organisations

Ministry of Health - Manatū Hauora
The Ministry of Health leads New Zealand’s health and disability system, and has overall responsibility for the management and development of this system.

These Ministry of Health webpages are particularly useful for Health Science students:

Health Statistics: Access statistical publications and data sets on a variety of health topics.
Maori Health: Access information on Maori health objectives, policies and publications.
New Zealand Health Strategy 2016: This strategy sets the direction of health services to improve the health of people and communities.
Nursing: Access information on what nurses are doing to develop and enhance their contribution to health services in New Zealand.
Pacific Health: Access information on the health and wellbeing of Pacific peoples as well as Pacific health resources and publications.

Medsafe
Medsafe is responsible for the regulation of therapeutic products in New Zealand. This website provides information on medicines, devices and safety.
Pharmac
Pharmac is the New Zealand government agency that decides which medicines and related products are funded in New Zealand.
Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for health science:

Health: Statistical data on a variety of health topics including injuries, disabilities and life expectancy.
Wellbeing: Statistical data on wellbeing includes life satisfaction, finances, health, housing, human rights and relationships.

Health Research Council of New Zealand
The Health Research Council of New Zealand identifies and funds research that can lead to new medicines, breakthroughs and cures, and improve the health and wellbeing of all New Zealanders.
The Hub
The Hub is the repository containing social science research undertaken, commissioned or partly funded by central government in New Zealand.
Maori Health Review
The Māori Health Review assists health professionals to keep up to date with key Māori health research papers published in global journals.

Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
HealthEd
HealthEd provides free public health resources from Te Hiringa Hauora/Health Promotion Agency, the Ministry of Health and other health providers.
Healthify
The Healthify website provides one place for New Zealanders to find reliable and trustworthy health information and self-care resources.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. Access health topics, drug/supplement information, videos, tools and more.
Merck Manual - Professional version
The Merck Manual provides accurate, accessible and usable medical information for health professionals. Access medical and drug information, resources, news, procedures and exam information, case studies, quizzes and much more.
The New Zealand Formulary
The NZF is an independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients.
Nurseslabs
This educational website provides study guides, written and reviewed by registered nurses. These include care plan examples, videos, exam preparation tests, study notes on a wide variety of topics and much more.

BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine
BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine is an open-access journal covering all aspects of sport and exercise medicine and associated areas such as physical activity for chronic disease prevention.
The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice
The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice is an internationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, online journal dedicated to the global exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education.
The Journal of Sport & Exercise Science
The Journal of Sport and Exercise Science (JSES) is a peer-reviewed online journal that publishes original research articles, reviews, invited commentaries and letters to the editor, in the broad context of sport and exercise science. This includes, but is not limited to, the fields of biomechanics, psychology, coaching, skill acquisition, exercise science, physiology, nutrition, injuries and rehabilitation.
Nursing Times
This magazine publishes articles to help nurses improve their practice, keep them up to date with news on nursing and healthcare policy and practice, and support them in their career development.

New Zealand Legislation
New Zealand Legislation is the authoritative source of New Zealand's acts, bills and secondary legislation.

These acts are particularly relevant to nursing:

Health Literacy NZ
Health Literacy NZ helps health organisations and teams look at health literacy from the perspective of reducing complexity and other barriers to access as well as building workforce capability and improving information to help individuals and families better understand and manage their health.
New Zealand Rehabilitation Association
The New Zealand Rehabilitation Association (NZRA) Inc. is a non-profit organisation for anyone interested in rehabilitation services in New Zealand.
Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand
This charity works towards creating a society free from discrimination, where all people enjoy positive mental health and wellbeing.
Toi Tangata
Toi Tangata is a Māori agency that develops, delivers and champions kaupapa Māori based approaches to kori (physical activity) and kai (nutrition).
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health.

Health and Disability Commissioner
The Health and Disability Commissioner promotes and protects people's rights as set out in the Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights.
Health Quality & Safety Commission New Zealand
The Health Quality & Safety Commission works with clinicians, providers and consumers to improve health and disability support services.
Privacy Commissioner
The Privacy Commissioner works to develop and promote a culture in which personal information is protected and respected.