SIT Library Guides: Te Reo Māori: Web Resources

Online magazines and journals

E-Tangata
E-Tangata is an online magazine run by the Mana Trust and is dedicated to building a stronger Māori and Pacific presence in the New Zealand media.
MAI Journal
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address Indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.
Te Kaharoa: The e-Journal on Indigenous Pacific Issues
Te Kaharoa is an open access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, electronic journal with a focus on indigenous issues in the Pacific region.

Weaving & carving resources

Ali Brown: Flax weaving projects
Access instructions for gathering and preparing flax, dyeing flax and step by step instructions for a variety of weaving projects.
Māori weaving and tukutuku – te raranga me te whatu
Te Ara: Encyclopedia of New Zealand explores the history of Māori weaving and tukutuku. This includes the art of te whara pora, Kākahu – woven cloaks, Tāniko and tukutuku, Whāriki, raranga and whiri, the revival of Māori fibre work and much more.
Techniques for weaving Māori cloaks
The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa provides information on the different techniques for weaving Māori cloaks along with photographs of woven items housed at Te Pap
Whakairo – Māori carving
Te Ara: Encyclopedia of New Zealand explores the history of Māori carving. This includes the origins of carving, materials and techniques, carving in different time periods and links to other sources.

Government organisations

Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture & Heritage
Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture and Heritage works to enrich the lives of all New Zealanders by supporting many of New Zealand’s arts, media, heritage and sports organisations; advising government on cultural matters and providing research and resources for everyone to access.
Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data:

Mātauranga | Māori knowledge and education: Access statistics about education, knowledge, qualifications and training. Includes Māori participation in study, qualifications held, and children in kaupapa Māori education such as kōhanga reo and kura kaupapa.
Ngā reo | Languages: Access statistics about te reo Māori and other languages spoken. Includes the number of te reo speakers and their level of ability, where people use te reo and who they speak it with and kaupapa Māori education.
Ōhanga | Māori economic wellbeing: Access economic statistics including work, income and Māori business statistics.
Toiora pāpori | Māori social wellbeing: Access statistics about toiora pāpori including Māori health and wellbeing, kaitiakitanga of the environment and whanaunatanga (social connections).

Te Kāhui Māngai - Directory of Iwi and Maori organisations
Te Kāhui Māngai is a useful tool for anyone to find out basic information about iwi, hapū and marae.
Te Puni Kōkiri - Ministry of Māori Development
Te Puni Kōkiri is the Government’s principal policy advisor on Māori wellbeing and development.
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori - Māori Language Commission
The Māori Language Commission is focused upon promoting te reo as a living language and an ordinary means of communication. This includes leading the government’s Māori language strategy and creating conditions for te reo to thrive.

Useful podcasts

Everyday Māori
This podcast is dedicated to helping you to learn everyday Māori you can use in everyday situations. It is hosted by Hemi Kelly (Ngati Maniapoto and Ngati Tahu-Ngati Whaoa), a full-time lecturer in te reo Māori at the Auckland University of Technology and Āpera Woodfine.
Taringa
This podcast by Te Wānanga o Aotearoa has hundreds of episodes, and each one delves deep into kaupapa around tikanga, kupu, kīwaha (sayings), whakataukī/whakatauākī (proverbs), iwi specific kōrero, waiata (songs), and much more. Each episode is around 45 minutes long, and presented in a mix of English and te reo Māori.

Māori language resources

100 Māori words every New Zealander should know
New Zealand History has identified 100 Māori words every New Zealander should know. Learn each word's meaning and listen to individual sound files of each word.
Greeting in te reo Māori
Listen to the Māori greetings used on RNZ with the English translations. These sound files will help with pronunciation.
Kotahi Mano Kāika
Kotahi Mano Kāika, Kotahi Mano Wawata (One thousand homes, One thousand aspirations) is the iwi strategy that leads the charge to reinvigorate our language within Kāi Tahu homes and communities. Access a variety of resources to improve your te reo Māori.
MāoriLanguage.net
Māori Language.net was started in 2007 and it's aim is to be a base for the basics of Māori Language.
Pūrārangi Māori: The Māori Alphabet
Learn the Māori alphabet with Pūrārangi Māori (created by Te Wānanga o Aotearoa), this product helps you pronounces te reo Māori consonants and vowels.
Te Aka Māori Dictionary
This website is the online version of Te Aka Māori-English, English-Māori Dictionary and Index. As well as the words one would expect in a traditional dictionary, Te Aka has encyclopaedic entries including the names of plants and animals, stars, planets and heavenly bodies, important Māori people, key ancestors of traditional narratives, tribal groups and ancestral canoes. Māori names for institutions, country names, place names and other proper names are also provided.
Te Whanake
Te Whanake provides access to a range of associated free online resources for independent learning and interaction of Te Reo Māori.
Tāmata Toiere
Tāmata Toiere aims to provide comprehensive information about waiata and haka (Māori song, chant, and dance). Where possible, this will include the lyrics, a translation, an explanation of the context behind the composition and the reasons it was composed, a biography of the composer, an audio file, a video file, any photos of relevance, and a list of references for further study.

Useful websites

Māori Maps
Māori Maps helps to connect Māori descendants with their marae and enable visitors to make appropriate contact with these centres of culture - in particular, linking Māori youth with their ancestral identity.
Māori myths, legends and contemporary stories - Ministry of Education
Access a collection of myths and legends alongside contemporary stories reflecting themes relevant to today's world. These stories have been either written or retold by Wiremu Grace. This collection of stories can be navigated in both te reo Māori and English.
New Zealand History
New Zealand History features information and resources from within the Research and Publishing Group of the Ministry for Culture and Heritage. You can browse content by people, places, events and topics. Also, three broad categories showcase themes in New Zealand history: culture and society, politics and government and New Zealand at war.
Pātaka Raraunga: Figure.NZ
Pātaka Raraunga brings together data, tools and reports on Te Āo Māori. You can access data from reputable sources that is free for you to take and use.
Te Ara: Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand is a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.

Research resources

Te Ipukarea Research Institute
Te Ipukarea Research Institute was established in 2008 and its main research focus is Māori language, culture and knowledge.

Useful PDFs

Conversations in Mātauranga Māori
Conversations On Mātauranga Māori spans a range of topics born from within the last two to three decades of Māori advancement in social, cultural, educational and economic development. The conversations and ideas contained within this document bring together an intellectual exchange, a Māori rationale, and the synergies of models to advance our thinking about mātauranga Māori.

Te Reo Māori: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources

Online magazines and journals

Weaving & carving resources

Government organisations

Useful podcasts

Māori language resources

Useful websites

Research resources

Useful PDFs

Broken Links?