SIT Library Guides: Social Services &amp; Mental Health: Web Resources

Government organisations

Child and Youth Wellbeing
The Child Wellbeing and Poverty Reduction Group sits within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and has developed a strategy that focuses on achieving a significant and sustained reduction in levels of child poverty, consistent with the Child Poverty Reduction Act.

This Child and Youth Wellbeing webpage is particularly useful for Social Services students:

Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy: The Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy sets out a shared understanding of what children and young people need and want in order to be well, what government is and should be doing to support them, and how we must work together.

Family Services Directory
The Family Services Directory is a searchable online database. It lists information about family support organisations and the services/programmes they offer to support New Zealand families.
Manatū Hauora Ministry of Health
The Ministry of Health leads New Zealand’s health and disability system, and has overall responsibility for the management and development of this system.

These Ministry of Health webpages are particularly useful for Social Services students:

Māori health models: The Māori philosophy towards health is based on a wellness or holistic health model. Access information on the three models of Māori health; Te Whare Tapa Whā, Te Wheke and Te Pae Mahutonga.
Mental Health: Access information and resources on mental illness.

Ministry of Social Development
The Ministry of Social Development is focused on helping build successful individuals, and in turn building strong, healthy families and communities.

These Ministry of Social Development webpages are particularly useful for Social Services students:

Statistics: Access statistics on a variety of social development topics.
Research Reports: Access research reports on a variety of social development topics.

Office for Disability Issues
The Office for Disability Issues is the focal point in government on disability issues. We are working toward a vision of New Zealand being a non-disabling society - a place where disabled people have an equal opportunity to achieve their goals and aspirations.
Oranga Tamariki Ministry for Children
Oranga Tamariki is dedicated to supporting any child in Aotearoa New Zealand whose wellbeing is at significant risk of harm now, or in the future. Oranga Tamariki also works with young people who may have offended, or are likely to offend.
Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for social services and mental health:

Children: Statistics about children includes information about the age, sex, ethnic affiliations, languages spoken and place of birth of New Zealand children, as well as information about children's well-being, health, disability, care and support.
Health: Statistical data on a variety of health topics including injuries, disabilities and life expectancy.
Maori Social Wellbeing: Statistics about toiora pāpori includes Māori health and wellbeing, kaitiakitanga of the environment, and whanaunatanga (social connections).
Wellbeing: Statistical data on wellbeing includes life satisfaction, finances, health, housing, human rights and relationships.

Social Wellbeing Agency | Toi Hau Tāngata
The Social Wellbeing Agency works across the social system, looking at issues that New Zealanders face which do not fit neatly into the work of a single agency and provides data analytics and insights on improving government policies.

This Social Wellbeing webpage is particularly useful for Social Services students:

Publications Library: Access documents on a variety of social wellbeing topics.

Strengthening Families
Strengthening Families provides a way for families to get co-ordinated access to services. It builds on the strengths and dreams of families, with support from health, social service, education and other services working together.

Useful websites

Age Concern New Zealand
Age Concern New Zealand is a charity dedicated to people over 65, their friends, and whānau. Age Concern promotes dignity, wellbeing, equity and respect and provides expert information and support services in response to older people's needs.
Amohia te Waiora
Amohia te Waiora provides information, advice, research and resources to help prevent and reduce alcohol-related harm and inspire New Zealanders to make better decisions about drinking alcohol.
Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
Healthify
The Healthify website provides one place for New Zealanders to find reliable and trustworthy health information and self-care resources.

These Health Navigator webpages are particularly useful for Social Services and Mental Health students:

Addiction: Access information, resources and support services for individuals coping with addiction.
Hauora Wellbeing: Hauora is a Māori view of health that is unique to Aotearoa New Zealand. It covers 4 aspects of health and wellbeing that relate to our physical, mental, social and spiritual needs, with each concept supporting the others. Access an A-Z of health wellbeing topics.
Mental Health topics: Access information, resources and services to help you look after your mental wellbeing.

Kids Health
Kids Health provides New Zealand parents and whānau with accurate and reliable information about the health and wellbeing of tamariki and rangatahi in Aotearoa.
The Lowdown
The Lowdown helps young New Zealanders recognise and understand depression or anxiety. By encouraging early recognition and help for depression or anxiety we intend to reduce the impact depression or anxiety has on the lives of young New Zealanders, now and throughout their adult lives.
Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand
This charity works towards creating a society free from discrimination, where all people enjoy positive mental health and wellbeing.
New Zealand Drug Foundation
The New Zealand Drug Foundation aims to prevent and reduce drug-related harm to individuals, families and communities. The NZ Drug Foundation has been at the forefront of major alcohol and other drug policy debates for almost 30 years, advocating for policies and practices based on the best evidence available.
Pātaka Raraunga: Figure.NZ
Pātaka Raraunga brings together data, tools and reports on Te Āo Māori. You can access data from reputable sources that is free for you to take and use.
Plunket Whānau Āwhina
Plunket Whānau Āwhina is Aotearoa’s largest support service for the health and wellbeing of tamariki under-five and their whānau.
Safer Gambling Aotearoa
Safer Gambling Aotearoa provides support and information for people who have a gambling problem, or think they may have one, and for people concerned about someone else’s gambling. It also has facts and figures about gambling in New Zealand.
Social Service Providers
Social Service Providers is a national membership-based organisation open to all community-based social service providers. This organisation strengthens the social sector through advocacy and engagement, learning and development, relationships and sector leadership.

This Social Service Providers webpage is particularly useful for Social Services students:

Te Whare Pupuri Rawa Resource Library: Access a variety of resources that are useful for those working across the wider social sector.

Te Hiringa Hauora Health Promotion Agency
Te Hiringa Hauora Health Promotion Agency is an evidence-based health promotion organisation, influencing all sectors that contribute to health and wellbeing. Access research, publications, insights and surveys.
Te Pou
Te Pou is a national workforce centre for mental health, addiction and disability in New Zealand. Te Pou aims to improve the lives of people with mental health, addiction and disability needs by connecting the people working with them, tāngata whai ora, tāngata whaikaha and their whānau, with knowledge, resources, training, and information.
Women's Refuge
The purpose of Women's Refuge is to liberate women, children and whānau from family violence by providing quality services and social commentary. Access information, resources, research and services.

Research resources

Health Research Council of New Zealand
The Health Research Council of New Zealand identifies and funds research that can lead to new medicines, breakthroughs and cures, and improve the health and wellbeing of all New Zealanders.
The Hub
The Hub is the repository containing social science research undertaken, commissioned or partly funded by central government in New Zealand.
Maori Health Review
The Māori Health Review assists health professionals to keep up to date with key Māori health research papers published in global journals.

Social Services associations

Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers
The Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers is the professional body for social workers. This national organisation seeks to lift the quality of social work practice and advocate for social justice, human rights, and human dignity. Access journals, webinars, research and much more.
Social Workers Registration Board
The Social Workers Registration Board (SWRB) is a Crown entity which is the regulatory authority responsible for the registration of social workers.
Tangata Whenua Social Workers Association
This is an association of tangata whenua social workers that commits to support tangata whenua practitioners.

Online journals and magazines

Aotearoa New Zealand Social Work
Aotearoa New Zealand Social Work is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a platform for research, analysis and scholarly debate on social work theory, policy and practice. Published quarterly, it particularly welcomes work offering critical perspectives on contemporary policy developments, indigenous social work, post-colonialism, anti-racism, feminism, and progressive social work theory, policy and practice.
The New Social Worker
The New Social Worker provides practical articles on social work students, social work ethics, field placement, practice issues, practice specialties, technology in social work, book reviews, and more.
Social Work Today
Social Work Today provides in-depth content that examines the difficult issues, challenges, and successes of social workers, while celebrating the profession’s common bonds, including all its distinct roles and varied work settings.
Whanake: The Pacific Journal of Community Development
Whanake: The Pacific Journal of Community Development is a bi-annual ejournal for practitioners and academics who love community development.

New Zealand Commissions

Mana Mokopuna | Children and Young People's Commission
Mana Mokopuna - Children and Young People's Commission is an independent advocate for all 1.2 million mokopuna aged under 18 in Aotearoa and care-experienced mokopuna aged up to 25.
Health and Disability Commissioner
The Health and Disability Commissioner promotes and protects people's rights as set out in the Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights.
Health Quality & Safety Commission New Zealand
The Health Quality & Safety Commission works with clinicians, providers and consumers to improve health and disability support services.
Privacy Commissioner
The Privacy Commissioner works to develop and promote a culture in which personal information is protected and respected.