SIT Library Guides: Screen Arts: Web Resources

Online magazines and journals

American Cinematographer
American Cinematographer is the industry's leading journal of film and digital production techniques. Access news, articles, videos and podcasts.
Animation Magazine
Animation Magazine covers all aspects of the animation industry including film and television animation, visual effects and video games.
CINEJ Cinema Journal
CINEJ Cinema Journal is an open access, peer-reviewed and refereed journal of film studies. The journal publishes essays on global cinemas and emerging national/transnational filmmaking practices, films, new authors from previusly understudied cinemas of the world.
Documentary magazine
Documentary is a quarterly publication that serves the documentary community with engaging, pragmatic and provocative coverage of the documentary field in print and online.
Film Criticism
Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, open access academic journal whose aim is to bring together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies in order to present the finest work in this area, foregrounding textual criticism as a primary value.
Filmmaker magazine
Filmmaker exists to support independent film and champion the group of artists committed to innovative and unique storytelling through uncompromising, selective, and respected editorial. Access articles, columns, interviews, videos and much more.
Game Studies: International Journal of Computer Game Research
Game Studies is a non-profit, open-access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research.
International Cinematographers' Guild magazine
The International Cinematographers' Guild Magazine provides leading-edge content, art and advertising that reflects our members’ inspiring artistry in the areas of feature filmmaking, cable and broadcast television, commercials, music videos, documentaries, still photography and new media.
International Journal of Computer Games Technology
The International Journal of Computer Games Technology is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research and review articles on both the research and development aspects of games technology covering the whole range of entertainment computing and interactive digital media.
International Journal of Design
The International Journal of Design is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including industrial design, visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, urban design, and other design related fields.
Open Screens Journal
Open Screens is the open-access online journal of the British Association of Film, Television and Screen Studies. This journal publishes research articles, reviews and audio-visual research-by-film-practice.
Senses of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. This journal is primarily concerned with ideas about particular films or bodies of work, but also with the regimes (ideological, economic and so forth) under which films are produced and viewed, and with the more abstract theoretical and philosophical issues raised by film study.

New Zealand Film Commission

New Zealand Film Commission
New Zealand Film Commission supports a diverse range of New Zealand and international stories to be told here and seen everywhere. We promote our talented individuals and our industry’s reputation for creativity, innovation and superb production values.

These New Zealand Film Commission webpages are particularly useful for Screen Arts students:

Guide for new filmmakers: Access information and tips for scriptwriting, film production, distribution and marketing. You will also find links to some useful websites and articles.
News: Browse through New Zealand Film Commission's latest news or go back through the archives.
Resource Library: Access supporting information including application guidelines and forms, annual reports, international film festival information, research, and guidance for co-productions and international productions.

Screen Arts associations

International Documentary Association
The International Documentary Association (IDA) supports the vital work of documentary storytellers and champions a thriving and inclusive documentary culture.
New Zealand Writer's Guild - Puni Taatuhi o Aotearoa
The New Zealand Writers Guild - Puni Taatuhi o Aotearoa is a professional association of script writers. NZWG represents the professional interests of writers in the fields of film, television, theatre, radio, comics and new media.
NZGDA: New Zealand Game Developers Association
The New Zealand Game Developers Association is a not-for-profit incorporated society formed in 2001 to champion, support and grow video game development in New Zealand.
Script to Screen
Script to Screen is a charitable organisation dedicated to developing the craft and culture of storytelling for the screen in Aotearoa.

This Script to Screen webpage is particularly useful for Screen Arts students:

Paerangi Video Tutorials: Script to Screen is proud to offer a series of nine video tutorials for aspiring screenwriters, directors and producers who want to create their own projects. Viewers learn how to find a good story, write a script, get ready for production and pitch the project to funders and collaborators.

The Screen Industry Guild of Aotearoa New Zealand
The Screen Industry Guild is a non-profit professional incorporated society representing the interests of screen industry crew and allied crafts in the New Zealand screen production industry.

Useful websites

Anatomy of a Scene
Film directors walk viewers through one scene of their movies, showing the magic, motives and the mistakes from behind the camera.
Animation World Network
Animation World Network provides a wide range of interesting, relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation. Topics covered include animator profiles, independent film distribution, commercial studio activities, licensing, CGI and other animation technologies, as well as in-depth coverage of current events in all fields of animation.
British Cinematographer
British Cinematographer focuses on the art and craft of cinematographers, and the technologies they use during production and post production. Access news, product information, resources, articles and much more.
Cartoon Brew
Catoon Brew covers a wide range of topics, from cutting-edge computer animation and visual effects for both television and film, to classical techniques like hand-drawn and stop motion. It also covers trends in commercial animation, interactive apps, blockbuster Hollywood features, crowdfunding, and independent filmmaking.
Concept Art World
Concept Art World is a concept art blog and directory that features news, concept artists, illustrators and designers working in film, game and animation.
Designing Sound
Designing Sound is a resource dedicated to the art and technique of sound design, with the aim of sharing information and knowledge for free and without advertising.
Freesound
Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, and all sorts of sounds released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Game Developer
Game Developer publishes multiple stories on a daily basis to inform, empower, and inspire its game developer readership. This includes news posts on current events and developments in the game industry alongside regular, in-depth features and interviews exploring many different aspects of game development and the diverse individuals that make up the industry.
Lifewire - Animation & Video
Lifewire's Animation & Video section provides tutorials, resources, and software recommendations, and provides everything you need to start animating and creating video with the best tools out there.
Motionographer
Since 2006, Motionographer has been a vital part of the Motion Design community, acting as a key resource for visual storytellers to hone their craft, showcase their triumphs, and navigate the unique nature of the industry.
Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision
Ngā Taonga is Aotearoa New Zealand’s audiovisual archive. Our purpose is to hold our nation’s audiovisual heritage in safe keeping and make it widely accessible.
NZ On Screen
NZ On Screen is the online showcase of NZ television, film, music videos and web series. All content is free to view – over 4,500 titles from the beginning of the screen industry to present day.
Pixar Research: Online Library
Pixar Research has a long history of technological innovation and pioneering work in computer graphics and animated films. Our research focuses on pushing the frontiers in areas including machine learning, rendering, simuation, geometry processing and many others.

Screen Arts: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources

Online magazines and journals

New Zealand Film Commission

Screen Arts associations

Useful websites