SIT Library Guides: Music: Web Resources

Government organisations

Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture & Heritage
Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture and Heritage works to enrich the lives of all New Zealanders by supporting many of New Zealand’s arts, media, heritage and sports organisations; advising government on cultural matters and providing research and resources for everyone to access.
New Zealand Music Commission
The New Zealand Music Commission Te Reo Reka O Aotearoa is a government funded organisation that promotes music from New Zealand and supports the growth of New Zealand music businesses – both culturally and economically, at home and abroad.

These New Zealand Music Commission webpages are particularly useful for Music students:

Artist Resources: Access a variety of resources to assist your journey as a musician.
New Zealand Music Statistics: Access statistics on different aspects of the New Zealand music industry.

NZ on Air
NZ on Air is an independent government funding agency delivering quality and diverse New Zealand public media.

This NZ on Air webpage is particularly useful for Music students:

Resources for musicians: Access templates and guidelines for every step of the process, to help you meet your obligations to NZ On Air and receive funding.

Music organisations

APRA AMCOS
Music and songwriting has great cultural and economic value, and songwriters need to be rewarded for their work. APRA AMCOS creates pathways for your music to be legally shared with you receiving royalties. Membership to this organisation is free.
Composers Association of New Zealand
The Composers Association of New Zealand is a group of composers and supportive organisations, whose aim is to represent New Zealand’s composition community on matters of national and international importance.
Music Education New Zealand Aotearoa
Music Education New Zealand Aotearoa (MENZA) is the national professional body that represents the interests of all music education sectors in this country.
Recorded Music NZ
Recorded Music NZ represents recording artists and right holders in Aotearoa through licensing, advocacy and promotion.
SOUNZ
SOUNZ champions and promotes the sounds and music of Aotearoa, New Zealand. SOUNZ is the only arts and music organisation of our kind working in the digital space to create and make available on our platforms the sounds, music and stories about the music of Aotearoa, New Zealand. Access articles, news, podcasts, videos and much more.
Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa | New Zealand Music Hall of Fame
The purpose of Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa | New Zealand Music Hall of Fame is to serve as an ongoing platform to recognise and celebrate the contributions of those who have had a significant impact on the evolution and development of Aotearoa music.

Useful websites

Musicmap: The genealogy and history of popular music genres from origin till present (1870-2016)
Musicmap attempts to provide the ultimate genealogy of popular music genres, including their relations and history. It is the result of more than seven years of research with over 200 listed sources and cross examination of many other visual genealogies.
Musictheory.net
MusicTheory.net is a free and interactive website. Access free lessons, exercises and tools for learning to read sheet music as well as identifying scales, intervals and chords.

These Musictheory.net webpages are particularly useful for Music students:

Lessons: Access free lessons on the basics, rhythm and meter, scales and key signatures, intervals, chords, diatonic chords, chord progressions and neopolitan chords.
Exercises: Access interactive exercises including staff identification, staff construction, keyboard identification, fretboard identification and ear training.
Tools: Access free music calculators.

NZ Music Month
The purpose of NZ Music Month is to celebrate music from New Zealand, and the people who make it.
OnMusic Dictionary
OnMusic Dictionary provides meanings of instruments, composers, terminology and musical symbols. It also includes audio clips of pronounciations and sound examples.
RNZ - Music 101
Music 101 includes interviews, live performances, behind the scenes, industry issues, profiles and more, all from an Aotearoa perspective.
School of Rock - Resources
Find music resources for musicians including essential music tips & techniques, learning materials and more to help students become successful performers.
Simplifying Theory
The main goal of Simplifying Theory is to provide a solid theoretical base about music, in a way that is simple and easy to understand.
Switched on Pop
A podcast about the making and meaning of popular music hosted by musicologist Nate Sloan and songwriter Charlie Harding. In conversation with leading artists, songwriters and producers, Switched On Pop breaks down pop songs to figure out what makes a hit and what is its place in culture.

Useful YouTube channels

SIT Studio Sessions
Watch live studio recordings with New Zealand musicians. Audio recorded by SIT Bachelor of Audio Production 3rd year students.

Music collections and archives

Archive of New Zealand Music - National Library
The Archive of New Zealand Music is the world's largest archive of unpublished material relating to New Zealand music and musicians. The Archive collects and preserves New Zealand's music heritage, making it accessible now and into the future.
AudioCulture
AudioCulture is an online celebration of the people who have created the music, the scenes they shaped, and the audiences they played to. On AudioCulture you can read about people, labels and related articles, listen to music, watch music videos, listen to interviews and performances, view images and browse discographies.
NZ on Screen - Music videos
NZ On Screen is the online showcase of NZ television, film, music video and web series. Access New Zealand music videos from the 1930's to today.

Online magazines and journals

IASPM Journal
IASPM Journal is the peer-reviewed open-access journal of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music.
Music Theory Online
Music Theory Online is a peer-reviewed open-access electronic journal of research and scholarship in music theory, music analysis, and related disciplines.
New Zealand Musician
NZ Musician is a print and online music magazine that deals with music in and from New Zealand. Access articles about events, gear, industry, news, lessons and much more.
Sound on Sound
Sound On Sound is the world's premier audio recording technology magazine. This website houses a continually-expanding archive of highly-authoritative and respected articles, news and up to the minute in-depth reviews (15,640 so far) that chart the impact of technology on the music production and recording processes.

Māori Music

Digital NZ: Waiata Māori - Early recordings
This Digital NZ webpage features a selection of digitised early recordings, along with some related material. Following the links will take you to the item record, then to the National Library website, where clicking on "Listen to this item" will allow you to hear the audio. Please note that due to the age and condition of some discs, sound quality varies.
Otago Museum: The sounds of taoka puoro
Taoka puoro are currently undergoing a revival, with increasing numbers of people learning to make and play these beautiful musical instruments. Learn about and listen to recordings of Māori instruments.
Te Ara: Māori composers – ngā kaitito waiata
From early creators of traditional mōteatea (chanted song-poetry) to contemporary composers who draw on introduced musical styles and influences, the Māori world has been home to many important composers.
Te Ara: Māori musical instruments – taonga puoro
Traditional Māori instruments experienced a revival in the late 20th century, with the haunting sounds of kōauau (flutes) and pūrerehua (spinning discs) now familiar to many New Zealanders. Learn about Māori musical concepts, instruments and more.
University of Otago: Waiata - songs
This is a small selection of waiata and includes the lyrics and a sound recording of each waiata.

Music: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources