SIT Library Guides: Massage Therapy: Web Resources

Online journals and magazines

International Journal of Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork
This is an open access, peer-reviewed publication intended to accommodate the diverse needs of the rapidly-expanding therapeutic massage and bodywork community. Principal sections of the journal span the areas of research, education, and clinical practice.
Massage & Bodywork magazine
The Massage & Bodywork magazine is a bimonthly journal for a national audience of massage, bodywork and somatic professionals. The magazine includes the latest research, historical perspectives, massage techniques, business information and professional trends. Set up a free login to access magazine issues.
Massage Magazine
This magazine provides the latest information about research studies conducted in massage therapy and related subjects as well as information about massage products.
Massage Therapy Journal
The American Massage Therapy Association's publication focuses on massage therapy techniques, research, practical self-care tips and business practices.
Massage Today
Massage Today provides meaningful and trustworthy information to the massage therapy profession. Massage Today publishes content on news, trends, techniques, legislative updates and more.
New Zealand Journal of Physiotherapy
The New Zealand Journal of Physiotherapy is the official journal of Physiotherapy New Zealand. The Journal’s aim is to publish content that reflects excellence in research and professional issues relevant to New Zealand and international physiotherapy communities.

Research resources

NZ Massage Therapy Research Centre
The NZ Massage Therapy Research Centre (NZMTRC) was established in 2009 to foster massage therapy research in New Zealand. As a hub for massage therapy research, the NZMTRC aims to promote massage therapy research and teaching across the wider massage community and provide access to New Zealand based massage therapy research findings. Research findings are presented in a poster gallery, a publications gallery, as well as a section with additional resources and links.

These NZ Massage Therapy Research Centre webpages are particularly useful for Massage students:

Research Posters: Access previous research posters.
Publications and Presentations: Access information on a variety of Massage Therapy topics.

Professional Massage Therapy association

Massage New Zealand
Massage New Zealand (MNZ) is the only massage therapy specific membership body in New Zealand for professional Massage Therapists.

These Massage New Zealand documents are particularly useful for Massage students:

Government organisations

Ministry of Health - Manatū Hauora
The Ministry of Health leads New Zealand’s health and disability system, and has overall responsibility for the management and development of this system.
Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Useful websites

Fascia Research Society
The Fascia Research Society (FRS) was established as a membership organisation to facilitate, encourage and support the dialogue and collaboration between clinicians, researchers and academics, in order to further our understanding of the properties and functions of fasciae.

These Fascia Research Society webpages are particularly useful for Massage students:

Articles/Videos: Access articles and videos from previous Fascia Research Society conferences.
Fascia glossary of terms: Glossary of terminology used in fascia research.

Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.

Collated and useful statistical data for Massage:

Massage: Access 14 charts on different aspects of Massage and those working in the industry.

Healthify
The Healthify website provides one place for New Zealanders to find reliable and trustworthy health information and self-care resources.
Innerbody: Human Anatomy Systems
Use this interactive website to explore the different systems of the human body.
Massage Therapy
Search the Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals' collection of full-text massage articles.
Massage Therapy Foundation
The Massage Therapy Foundation's mission is to advance the knowledge and practice of massage therapy by supporting scientific research, education and community service.

These Massage Therapy Foundation webpages are particularly useful for Massage students:

Resources: Access a variety of resources including case reports, community service resources, webinars, research infographics, research posters and much more.
Research: Access a variety of research resources including tools, infographics, posters, webinars and much more.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. Access health topics, drug/supplement information, videos, tools and more.
Merck Manual - Professional version
The Merck Manual provides accurate, accessible and usable medical information for health professionals. Access medical and drug information, resources, news, procedures and exam information, case studies, quizzes and much more.
National Institutes of Health: National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The mission of NCCIH is to determine, through rigorous scientific investigation, the fundamental science, usefulness, and safety of complementary and integrative health approaches and their roles in improving health and health care. Access health information, research and much more.

These National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health webpages are particularly useful for Massage students:

Massage therapy what you need to know: Provides a general overview of Massage and suggests sources and references for more information.
Massage therapy for health: This 2018 issue of NCCIH Clinical Digest provides information on what the science currently says about the clinical effects of massage for several health conditions, including pain, cancer symptoms, and others.

RMT Education Project
The RMT Education Project offers a new approach to information, by offering a curated list of open access articles and resources for massage therapists.

These RMT Education Project webpages are particularly useful for Massage students:

Evidence-based massage therapy: Access evidence-based resources on a variety of massage therapy topics.
Free educational resources: Access a variety of free resources including popular publications, videos and open access research.

Massage Therapy: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources

Online journals and magazines

Research resources

Professional Massage Therapy association

Government organisations

Useful websites

Injury prevention for massage therapists

Broken Links?