SIT Library Guides: Interior Design: Web Resources

Digital design programmes

Roomstyler
Sign up for free to create 3D room plans and digital moodboards. Start decorating with the 120,000+ items in Roomstyler’s virtual library.

These Roomstyler software programmes are particularly useful for Interior Design students:

3D Roomplanner: With this easy-to-use software create photo-realistic 3D-looks of designed interiors.
Moodboard Creator: With this easy-to-use software create digital moodboards using the 120,000+ items in Roomstyler’s virtual library.

Useful colour websites

Paletton
Paletton is an online tool that helps you create colour combinations and palettes of colours that work well togther. Paletton provides options for monochromatic, adjacent colours, triad (3) colours, tetrad (4) colours and freestyle colour combinations.
Color Matters
Learn basic colour theory and psychology from Jill Morton, a colour consultant.

Interior Design associations

IIDA: International Interior Design Association
IIDA is the commercial interior design association with global reach. IIDA advocates for advancement in education, design excellence, legislation, leadership, accreditation, and community outreach to increase the value and understanding of interior design as a profession.

This IIDA webpage is particularly useful for Interior Design students:

Articles and Publications: Access articles and reports on a variety of interior design topics.

The Designers Institute of New Zealand
The Designers Institute of New Zealand exists to serve New Zealand’s design community and represent its interests to the wider world.

Useful websites

Archipro
Archipro provides information about the newest projects, products, and technologies shaping the future of the architecture and design environment.
Architonic
Architonic is a guide to products and materials including fabrics, furnishings, lighting, wall and floor finishes. This includes manufacturers details.
Home Designing
Home Designing helps people visualise, create and maintain beautiful homes. This website provides inspiring visuals of homes, specific spaces, architectural marvels and new design trends.
Houzz
Houzz is the new way to design your home. Browse 20 million interior design photos, home decor and decorating ideas, check out products and read stories from the world of design.
Inhabitat
Inhabitat is a green design and lifestyle website that provides coverage of environmental news and the latest in sustainable design. Inhabitat is devoted to the future of design, innovative technology and any architectural projects or concepts that emphasize energy efficiency, sustainability and connection to the surrounding environment.
The Local Project
Working across multiple mediums, the Local Project explores architecture, interiors, design and art of Australia and New Zealand. The Local Project is dedicated to championing the design community of our local region.
Material District
As the world’s leading platform of innovative materials, Material District empowers global innovation by match-making material needs with material solutions.
The Spruce
The Spruce provides design inspiration and expert tips to home design and decorating to help you make your best home.

Online magazines

Architectural Digest
Architectural Digest offers coverage of the interior design and architecture worlds, new shops and products, travel destinations, art and cultural events, celebrity style and high-end real estate.
Better Homes & Gardens - Decorating and Design
Better Homes & Gardens has the best home decorating ideas, do-it-yourself projects, paint-colour help, window treatment tips, and small-space solutions for your bedroom, bathroom, and living room. Plus, learn decorating basics with tips from our editors and expert interior designers. Here you'll discover how to decorate small spaces, how to arrange furniture, and how to use decorating accessories.
Elle Decor
Elle Decor is the ultimate guide to decorating and design, you will find ideas and inspiration, the latest information and products, and tools to help you decorate, renovate, and entertain stylishly.
Green Magazine
Green Magazine is Australia's leading publication for inspirational stories on sustainable design featuring local and international houses, gardens and profiles.
Home magazine - Interiors
Since 1936 Home has showcased New Zealand residential architecture and interior design. Explore homes that are designed to inspire, challenge and delight.
Interior Design
Interior Design is the design professional's monthly must-read. Each issue features groundbreaking projects, innovative new products and design industry news.

Useful YouTube channels

Resene Decorating
Resene Decorating provides helpful webinars as well as ideas and inspiration on how to paint, decorate, wallpaper, choose colours and much more.
Architectural Digest
AD is the international authority on design and architecture. AD provides exclusive access to the world’s most beautiful homes and the fascinating people who live in them, bringing its audience a wealth of information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary product.

Interior Design: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources

Digital design programmes

Useful colour websites

Interior Design associations

Useful websites

Online magazines

Useful YouTube channels