SIT Library Guides: Health and Safety: Web Resources

Online magazines and journals

Health & Safety International
Health & Safety International is Europe’s largest audited safety magazine. Published five times a year, it focuses on the importance of occupational safety in a wide range of industries across Europe. This magazine includes in-depth articles, case studies, product reports, webinars and videos that educate the reader in employee protection.
International Journal of Occupational Safety and Health
The International Journal of Occupational Safety and Health (IJOSH) is an international peer-reviewed open-access journal covering occupational health, safety and workers' health. Articles relate to the full range of chemical, physical, ergonomic, biological, and psychosocial hazards in the workplace and to environmental contaminants and their health effects and the safety standards and interventions.
IOSH magazine
IOSH magazine is the world’s largest English language magazine for safety and health practitioners. It focuses on safety, health and wellbeing in the workplace.
Safety
Safety is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal of industrial and human health and safety published quarterly online.
Safety+Health magazine
Safety+Health magazine, published by the National Safety Council (USA), offers comprehensive coverage of occupational safety news and analysis of industry trends.
Scandinavian Journal of Work, Environment & Health
The Scandinavian Journal of Work, Environment & Health is a bimonthly peer-reviewed open-access medical journal. It covers research on occupational and environmental health and safety. It is published by the Nordic Association of Occupational Safety and Health.

Health & Safety organisations

Business Leaders' Health & Safety Forum
The Business Leaders' Health and Safety Forum is a coalition of business and government leaders committed to improving the performance of workplace health and safety in New Zealand. Access resources on a variety of Health & Safety topics.
HASANZ: Health & Safety Association of New Zealand
The Health and Safety Association of New Zealand (HASANZ) is the umbrella organisation representing workplace health and safety professions in New Zealand. HASANZ aims to raise professional standards across the sector while connecting businesses with trusted health and safety professionals.

Useful websites

EHS Today
EHS Today informs safety professionals of trends, management strategies, regulatory updates and daily news that help them provide safe and healthy work sites.
Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
Health & Safety Matters
Health & Safety Matters covers the latest news, prosecutions, case studies, regulations, standards, products, services and technology relating to occupational health and safety.
Safety Solutions
Safety Solutions provides busy industrial, construction, manufacturing and mining safety professionals with an easy‐to‐use, readily available source of information that is crucial to gaining valuable industry insight.
Site Safe
Site Safe is focused on creating a positive change in the health and safety culture of New Zealand’s construction industry. Site Safe provides education and resources on best practice systems and behaviours known to improve on-site health and safety.

Research resources

Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety & Health
The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health was developed to provide accurate, user-friendly information about safety and health for construction workers, employers, researchers and others interested in construction safety and health from a wide range of sources worldwide.
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
NIOSH is an American research agency focused on the study of worker safety and health, and empowering employers and workers to create safe and healthy workplaces.

These NIOSH webpages are particularly useful to Health & Safety students:

Workplace safety & health topics: Access an A to Z of Health and Safety topics.
NIOSH publications and products: Access all publications and products supported by NIOSH including research articles, videos, fact sheets, reports and much more.
NIOSH data and statistics gateway: Access available NIOSH data, statistics and resources in a variety of forms. See data definitions to easily identify data types.

Health & Safety and the law

New Zealand Legislation
New Zealand Legislation is the authoritative source of New Zealand's acts, bills and secondary legislation.

This act is particularly relevant for Health and Safety:

Health and Safety at Work Act 2015

Government organisations

ACC - Workplace health and safety
ACC helps businesses to improve workplace health and safety, provides incentives for having a healthy and safe workplace, and tools for staying healthy and safe.
Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment
The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) is the government’s lead business-facing agency. Access information, resources, publications and research on a variety of business topics.

This Ministry of Business, Innovation & Emplyment webpage is particularly useful for Health and Safety students:

Health & Safety: Access a variety of information on New Zealand's health and safety from a business perspective.

Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for Health & Safety students:

Injuries: Statistics about injuries provides information about claims for work-related injuries, and serious injury outcome indicators.

WorkSafe New Zealand
WorkSafe is New Zealand’s primary workplace health and safety regulator. The focus of WorkSafe is to lift health and safety performance and support New Zealanders to return home from work healthy and safe. Access data, research, publications, resources, laws and regulations.

These Worksafe New Zealand webpages are particularly useful for Health and Safety students:

Publications and resources: Search all downloadable documents available on the Worksafe website.
Research: Access a variety of research on all aspects of health and safety.
SafePlus: SafePlus is a voluntary, health and safety performance improvement toolkit for businesses. It defines what good health and safety looks like, above minimum legal compliance.
Understanding the law: Find out more about the key concepts of HSWA – New Zealand's workplace health and safety law.

Health and Safety: Web Resources

Be critical... evaluate your sources