Fashion: Web Resources

These Museum at FIT webpages are particularly useful for Fashion students:

• Collections: Search the museum's collections by object, exhibitions or people and brands.  View items and read the related item's details and commentary.
• Fashion Studies Resources: Access a variety of research resources including videos, information, links to helpful websites and much more.
• Research by MFIT: Research by curators and other Museum at FIT staff is often presented in lectures and panel discussions. Learn about fashion theory and fashion history by exploring this list of past talks by MFIT staff.

These Victoria & Albert Museum collections are particularly useful for Fashion students:

• Costume: The Theatre and Performance collections include over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories dating from the mid-18th century to today. View individual collection items and read each object's details.  Also, access information and videos on a variety of costume topics.
• Fashion: Spanning five centuries the fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world.  View individual collection items and read each object's details.  Also, access information and videos on a variety of fashion topics.
• Textiles: The V&A holds the national collection of textiles and fashion, which includes more than 75,000 individual objects or sets of objects that span a period of more than 5,000 years, from Predynastic Egypt to the present day.  View individual collection items and read each object's details.  Also, access information on a variety of textile topics.