SIT Library Guides: Education: Web Resources

Useful websites

Ako Aotearoa
Ako Aotearoa is a government-funded organisation committed to supporting the country’s tertiary sector teachers, trainers and educators be the best they can be for the learners' success.

This Ako Aotearoa webpage is particularly useful for Education students:

Knowledge Centre: Access a variety of education resources, guides, reports, videos and more.

Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
Literacy Aotearoa
Literacy Aotearoa is a national organisation of adult literacy providers and is a leading commentator on literacy issues in Aotearoa New Zealand.
BBC Skillswise
A collection of free videos and downloadable worksheets to help adult learners improve reading, writing and numeracy skills.

Education Counts
Education Counts provides access to education statistics, research, publications, education topics and school information.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
The Hub
The Hub is the repository containing social science research undertaken, commissioned or partly funded by central government in New Zealand.
New Zealand Council for Educational Research
NZCER is Aotearoa New Zealand’s independent research and development organisation, operating under its own legislation since 1945. The NZCER Act 1972 provides us with a mandate to carry out and disseminate education research, and provide independent information, advice, and assistance.
Teaching & Learning Research Initiative
The TLRI is a government fund for collaborative research about teaching and learning in the early childhood, school and tertiary sectors. It aims to build research capability and to make a difference to teaching and learning in New Zealand. Access in progress and completed research.

Ministry of Education
The Ministry of Education is the Government's lead advisor on the New Zealand education system, shaping direction for sector agencies and providers.

These Ministry of Education webpages are particularly useful for Education students:

Education and disability legislation: Learn about the national and international legislation regarding inclusive education.
Inclusive education: Find out about inclusive education in New Zealand schools, including schools' legal obligations. Access resources to help your school or early learning service support students with diverse needs.
Tertiary education policies and strategies: Learn about the policies and strategies that are being prepared for and applied in the tertiary education sector.

Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for education:

Education: Access statistics about participation and achievement in formal education. In New Zealand, formal education is compulsory for those aged 6 to 16 years. Early childhood education and tertiary study are optional.
Mātauranga | Māori knowledge and education: Statistics about education, knowledge, qualifications, and training. Includes Māori participation in study, qualifications held, and children in kaupapa Māori education such as kōhanga reo and kura kaupapa.

TKI: Te Kete Ipurangi
Te Kete Ipurangi is New Zealand’s bilingual education portal. An initiative of the Ministry of Education, it provides New Zealand schools and students with a wealth of information, resources, and curriculum materials to enhance teaching and learning, raise student achievement, and advance professional development for teaching staff and school managers.

These TKI webpages are particularly useful for Education students:

Inclusive Education: This webpage helps build educator confidence in meeting the learning and wellbeing needs of diverse learners, and for strengthening inclusive practices.
SE Online: This webpage is for school and early childhood educators of children or young people with special education needs.

New Zealand Legislation
New Zealand Legislation is the authoritative source of New Zealand's acts, bills and secondary legislation.

This act is particularly relevant to education:

Canadian Journal of Higher Education
The Canadian Journal of Higher Education is a peer-reviewed and open-access publication. The journal's articles address a variety of problems and consider different units of analysis to further understanding of Canadian higher education topics such as public policy, institutional governance and administration, community engagement, student success, the curriculum, and organizational change.
Waikato Journal of Education
The Waikato Journal of Education is a well-regarded peer-reviewed journal. Since the first publication in 1995, the journal has made a major contribution to the scholarship on a wide range of topics in the field of education, particularly issues connected to curriculum, learning and teaching.
Journal of Effective Teaching in Higher Education
The Journal of Effective Teaching in Higher Education (JETHE) is an open access electronic peer-reviewed journal that advances the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) focused on institutions of higher education.

Making best use of teaching assistants: Guidance report
This is a practical, evidence-based UK guide for primary and secondary schools to support effective practices for working with teacher aides. It contains recommendations based on the latest research examining the use of teacher aides in classrooms.
The role of the teacher's aide
Information published by the Ministry of Education on the role of a teacher's aide within the classroom.