SIT Library Guides: Construction Management & Quantity Surveying: Web Resources

Government organisations

Building Performance
Building Performance provides policy and technical advice on New Zealand’s building system, rules and standards, and implements building legislation and regulations to meet New Zealand’s current and future needs.
Land Information New Zealand
Land Information New Zealand is the Government’s lead agency for property and location information, Crown property and managing overseas investment – working across land, sea, data and regulatory areas.
Ministry for the Environment
The Ministry for the Environment is the government’s primary advisor on environmental matters and has a stewardship role. Access information, reports, research and publications on a variety of environmental topics.
Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment
The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) is the government’s lead business-facing agency. Access information, resources, publications and research on a variety of business topics.

These Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment webpages are particularly useful for Construction Management & Quantity Surveying students:

Building and construction: Access information on all aspects of building and construction.
Understanding the Construction Contracts Act: Access information on the Construction Contracts Act.

Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for Construction Management & Quantity Surveying students:

Building: Building statistics give you information about building and construction activity happening across New Zealand.

WorkSafe New Zealand
WorkSafe is New Zealand’s primary workplace health and safety regulator. The focus of WorkSafe is to lift health and safety performance and support New Zealanders to return home from work healthy and safe. Access data, research, publications, resources, laws and regulations.

These Worksafe New Zealand webpages are particularly useful for Construction Management & Quantity Surveying students:

Building and construction: Access information on health and safety relating to the construction industry.
Publications and resources: Search all downloadable documents available on the Worksafe website.
Research: Access a variety of research on all aspects of health and safety.
SafePlus: SafePlus is a voluntary, health and safety performance improvement toolkit for businesses. It defines what good health and safety looks like, above minimum legal compliance.
Understanding the law: Find out more about the key concepts of HSWA – New Zealand's workplace health and safety law.

New Zealand standards

Standards New Zealand
Standards New Zealand is a business unit within the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE). We manage the development and publication of standards and standards-related solutions. We also publish and sell New Zealand, joint Australian/New Zealand and international standards.

This Standards New Zealand webpage is particularly useful for Construction Management & Quantity Surveying students:

Free building related standards: The Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment (Building System Performance) has funded some building standards, used for Building Code compliance, for free download.

Useful websites

Building Guide
The Building Guide provides a step by step guide to the design, planning and building process. Find information on building products, building professionals, building and renovation advice, ideas and insights.
Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
Level: The authority on sustainable building
Level will help you design and build homes which have less impact on the environment and are healthier, more comfortable, and have lower running costs.
miproducts
miproducts.co.nz is an online directory of building products, providing architects, designers, engineers and all construction industry professionals access to product information from all New Zealand building product suppliers. Our core objective is to provide quick, convenient access to information on all building products available in the New Zealand market.
Site Safe
Site Safe is focused on creating a positive change in the health and safety culture of New Zealand’s construction industry. Site Safe provides education and resources on best practice systems and behaviours known to improve on-site health and safety.

Useful BIM resources

Australia and New Zealand BIM Best Practice Guidelines
These guidelines have been developed collaboratively between AIQS and NZIQS and are an essential guide for quantity surveyors, cost managers or cost estimators looking to be involved with a project using BIM.

BIMinNZ
BIMinNZ offers a number of tools and resources to increase the use of BIM across New Zealand. BIMinNZ is driven by the BIM Acceleration Committee (BAC), a nationwide alliance of industry and government organisations working to promote Building Information Modelling (BIM) within the New Zealand building and construction industry.

The New Zealand BIM Handbook
The aim of the New Zealand BIM Handbook is to promote the use of BIM and its benefits and to create, maintain and operate quality built assets in New Zealand. Developed in partnership with industry at every step, the Handbook is for New Zealand’s building and construction sector, but draws on best BIM practice from around the world. The handbook follows the normal progression of a project, from project establishment through to operation, and documents a consistent approach, using a common language, to BIM in New Zealand.

New Zealand associations

New Zealand Construction Industry Council
The New Zealand Construction Industry Council (NZCIC) is an industry association of associations in the building and construction, design and property sectors. It is the collaborative voice of the built environment industry in New Zealand and operates at the interface between government (central and local) and industry.
New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors
The New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors (NZIQS) is the professional organisation in New Zealand for Quantity Surveyors, Estimators, Cost Managers and Cost Consultants in the construction industry.
NAWIC: National Association of Women in Construction
NAWIC is a voluntary, non-profit association of women who work either in the construction industry or for business organisations who provide services to the construction industry.

Online magazines and journals

Buildings
Buildings is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original articles, critical reviews, research notes, and communications on building science, building engineering and architecture design.
BuildLaw Quarterly Journal
BuildLaw is the quarterly publication of the Building Disputes Tribunal which includes a wide range of contributions written by leading construction lawyers, academics, and prominent dispute resolution professionals from various jurisdictions around the world.
Construction Materials
Construction Materials is an international, open access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research findings and developments in the field of construction materials. This journal focuses on the preparation and characterisation of all kinds of construction materials, the relationship between properties and applications as well as environmental impacts on construction materials.
Journal of Project Management
The Journal of Project Management is an online international journal known for publishing high quality peer reviewed papers in the field of theoretical and applied project management affairs.
Journal of Surveying, Construction & Property
The Journal of Surveying, Construction & Property (JSCP) is a free open access publication that adopts an interdisciplinary, multifunctional approach, and publishes original research in the areas of Surveying, Property, Real Estate and Valuation, Building, Construction and Urban Studies.
The Open Construction & Building Technology Journal
The Open Construction & Building Technology Journal is an open access online journal that publishes original research articles, review/mini-review articles, short articles, and guest-edited single topic issues on all areas of construction and building technology. It also includes articles on topics related to building and structural engineering as well as building materials.

Research resources

BRANZ: Building Research Association of New Zealand
BRANZ is an independent research organisation that uses an impartial evidence-based approach to improving the performance of the New Zealand building system. Access research, guides, publications and much more.
BRE Group: Building Research Establishment
BRE is an innovative group of researchers, scientists, engineers and technicians who share a common goal – to make the built environment better for all. Access news, data, topic information, research, videos and much more.
Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety & Health
The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health was developed to provide accurate, user-friendly information about safety and health for construction workers, employers, researchers and others interested in construction safety and health from a wide range of sources worldwide.
International Council for Research and Innovations in Building and Construction
The International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction is a worldwide network of building and construction experts who improve their performance through international co-operation and information exchange with their peers to improve the quality and impact of research and innovation activities in the sector. Access publications, reports, webinars, videos and more.