SIT Library Guides: Agriculture & Horticulture: Web Resources

Government organisations

Department of Conservation
The Department of Conservation is charged with conserving New Zealand's natural and historic heritage. Access information, research and publications on animal, plant and land conservation.
Ministry for the Environment
The Ministry for the Environment is the government’s primary advisor on environmental matters and has a stewardship role. Access information, reports, research and publications on a variety of environmental topics.
Ministry for Primary Industries
The Ministry for Primary Industries is helping to develop export opportunities for our primary industries, improve sector productivity, ensure the food we produce is safe, increase sustainable resource use, and protect New Zealand from biological risk.

These Ministry for Primary Industries webpages are particularly useful for Agriculture and Horticulture students:

Agriculture: Learn about the chemicals, fertilisers and product requirements used in agriculture.
Agricultural & horticultural statistics: MPI partners with Stats NZ and works with other industry organisations to collect and report agricultural and horticultural statistics.
Beekeeping: Access information and resources on all aspects of beekeeping from setup to exporting.
Dairy farming: Access information, templates and case studies on understanding and meeting your legal requirements as a dairy farmer.
Farm management, the environment and land use: Find out how to best care for your land, waterways and forests as well as the support available.

Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa
Stats NZ is New Zealand's official data agency. They collect information from people and organisations through censuses and surveys. This information is used to publish insights and data about New Zealand and support others to use the data.

Collated and useful statistical data for Agriculture and Horticulture students:

Agriculture: Statistical data on animal farming, crop growing, forestry and farm practices.
Biodiversity: Statistical data on our indigenous (native) plant and animal species of the land, freshwater, and marine environments. It also considers exotic plant and animal species (pest plants and animals as well as farmed plants and animals).
Environment: Statistical data on the environment as well as how our economy and environment interact.

WorkSafe - Agriculture
Find health and safety information about farming including guidance, tool kits, vehicles on farms, working with animals, noise management and useful case studies.

Agricultural & Horticultural organisations

Beef + Lamb New Zealand
Beef + Lamb New Zealand is the farmer-owned, industry organisation representing New Zealand's sheep and beef farmers. Access industry data, material from industry experts, research, advocacy information and much more.
DairyNZ
DairyNZ is the industry organisation that represents all New Zealand dairy farmers. It supports farmers through investing in research, resource development, extension and advocacy to ensure they lead the world in sustainable dairy farming. Access magazine issues, articles, guides, poster, research and more.
Federated Farmers of New Zealand
Federated Farmers is New Zealand’s leading independent rural advocacy organisation. The federation’s aim is to add value to the business of farming for our members and encouraging sustainability through good management practice.
Horticulture New Zealand
Horticulture New Zealand (HortNZ) advocates for and represents the interests of New Zealand’s 6,000 commercial fruit and vegetable growers. Access news, reports, policies, plans and resources relating to the horticulture industry.
OrganicFarmNZ
The aim of OrganicFarmNZ (OFNZ) is to increase the community’s understanding of organic principles and the practice of organic gardening and farming in New Zealand.
Royal Horticultural Society
The Royal Horticultural Society aims to inspire a passion for gardening and growing plants. Access detailed information on a wide variety of plants, gardening advice from pest prevention to landscape design and read scientific research on a variety of horticultural topics.

Online magazines

Dairy News
Dairy News offers content of interest to New Zealand dairy farmers – news, markets, opinion, animal health, management and machinery.
Farmers Weekly
Farmers Weekly is the leading agricultural publication for New Zealand farmers. It provides news, information, learning, forums, jobs, real estate, farmer's voice, weather and much more.
Hort News
Hort News covers every aspect of the horticulture industry – news, agribusiness, management, markets, machinery and technology.
Rural News
Rural News has the latest news, market updates, animal health developments, management profiles, machinery news and no-nonsense commentary.
Better Homes & Gardens - Garden Design
Access garden design secrets, ideas and inspiration for front yards and backyards.

Research organisations

Agresearch
Through science and technology projects, Agresearch enhances the value, productivity and profitability of New Zealand’s pastoral, agri-food and agri-technology sector. Access case studies, research projects, farming resources, research programmes, white papers and more.
Landcare Research - Manaaki Whenua
Landcare Research undertakes world-class science focused on New Zealand’s biodiversity, biosecurity, land resources and environment. Access their resources, research and projects.
Motu Research
Motu Research is an independent, public-good focused economics and policy research institute. Motu helps Kiwi decision makers grapple with complex social and environmental issues, with our world class economic and public policy research.
Plant and Food Research
Plant and Food Research use world-leading science to improve the way we grow, fish, harvest and share food. Access research and case studies on a variety of agricultural and horticultural topics.

Useful websites

AgriHQ
AgriHQ publishes rural news, information, stories, data analysis, educational resources, and community engagement platforms that encourage a more sustainable and profitable future for New Zealand agriculture.
Figure.nz
Figure.nz provides New Zealand focused figures, graphs and data on a variety of topics.
Fresh Facts
Access annual documents containing industry statistics and facts published by Horticulture New Zealand and Plant and Food Research.
Garden Design
Garden design provides information and resources on all aspects of gardening.
This includes plant information, gardening solutions, landscape design and much more.
Massey University New Zealand Weeds Database
This site provides information on 77 of the more troublesome weeds found in New Zealand agriculture and horticulture. Each page has information on how to identify the featured weed (with photos) as well as information about the weed and some suggestions on how best to control it.
Pasture Plant Identification
Pasture plant identification is a visual aid to help you recognise and name the most common pasture grasses and legumes found in New Zealand, and also a few of our most common cereal and forage crops. Brief details of industry relevance are also included.
Plants for a Future
Plants for a future is a database with detailed information on over 8,000 plants.
Soils Portal - Landcare Research
Soils Portal is a comprehensive source of information on New Zealand's soils. Access information, data, tools and resources on all aspects of soil.